Tuesday, August 10, 2010

Subang Scrabble Challenge 2010_08.08.10

The second Subang Scabble Challenge (SSC) was organized by the The Subang Jaya Community Sports Club (SJSC) in association with the Malaysian Scrabble Association (MSA) on the 7th and 8th August 2010 at Wisma Subang Jaya, SS15, Subang Jaya. SJSC has been actively organizing youth sporting activities such as the Boy’s Football League and the Girls’Futsal league, for the past ten years in Subang Jaya. The inaugural Scabble competition was introduced in 2008 to provide a fun and family-orientated way to interact between the members and improve the usage of English Language among the youths.

This year the competition was divided in three divisions to cater for the different levels of scrabble players. The Open division was for the more seasoned and competitive scrabble players residing in the Klang Valley, some of them have played in previous World Scrabble Competitions. The Junior U 18 division was for the school children who has been playing competitive scrabble for the school, while the Beginners division was mainly for the SJSC members who are interested in playing scrabble. The Open and Junior U18 Divisions would be nationally rated by Malaysian Scrabble Association and shall be published in the MSA website www.penster.com.

The Opening Ceremony was held on 8th August morning attended by YB Hannah Yeoh, Subang Jaya ADUN, her husband Mr. Ramachandran and Mr. Namasivayam, Taylor’s College Representative. Thank you to YB Hannah Yeoh who pledged Ringgit 3,000 for the scrabble event and Mr. Namasivayam who arranged for Taylor’s College to be Tournament Venue Host.

Opening Ceremony

Mr. Manohar, SJSC Secretary, presenting souvenirs to YB Hannah Yeoh and Mr. Namasivayam

Open Division

Sixteen of the top ranked players took part in the two days Open division event, held on the 7th and 8th August, playing fifteen rounds of competitive scrabble. In the first round of the competition, Pui Cheng Wui played a bingo (seven letter word) “QUITRENT” against Tan Jin Chor for 107 points which was only surpassed in round 10, the next day, by Ramaraj Sundraraj who played “RAVIGOTE" for 181 points. It was the usual bingo bonanza, "SAPHENAE", “SIDERITE”, “QUININS”, “TARAIRE”, "ORTHODOX" and “DOURINES”, to name a few, in every round throughout the tournament.

Open Division Participants

At the end of the nine rounds of scrabble on the first day, Tengku Asri had a slim one point lead with seven wins ahead of five other players with six wins. The clash between the two top ranked players, Henry Yeo and Pui Cheng Wui, in the final two rounds decided the Champion when Pui Cheng Wui managed to defeat Henry Yeo twice by finishing with eleven wins and spread 497 points. After leading the table most of the day, Henry had to settle for the runner up spot ahead of Ramaraj, both with 10 points but better margin. Jagan Narayanan and Ker Jen Ho, who would be representing Malaysia in the coming World Youth Scrabble Competition (WYSC) in Manila at the end of the year, did well to emerge fourth and fifth respectively followed by Tengku Asri by finishing with nine wins each.

Intense brain power at work

The top three winners were given cash awards and trophies. Additional cash award was given to the fourth placed while the fifth placed winner received a prize (Board game).

Mr. Farouk, SJCSC Coordinator, presenting cash and trophies to the top three winners, Pui Cheng Wui, Henry Yeo and Ramaraj.

Results after round 15

08.08.2010 2010SSC – OPEN DIVISION

Rank Player Wins Mar

1 Pui Cheng Wui 11 497

2 Yeo Kien Hung 10 1241

3 Ramaraj Sundraraj 10 696

4 Jagan Narayanan 9 325

5 Ker Jen Ho 9 202

6 Tengku Asri 9 73

7 Tan Jin Chor 8 220

8 William Kang 8 110

9 Alex Tan Ken Seng 8 -127

10 Mohammad Ali Ismail 7 77

11 Jocelyn Lor 7 -225

12 Chang Ching Wei 6 171

13 Lee Pao Hsien 6 -319

14 Ker Ken Wa 6 -817

15 Mohd Khairi 5 -607

16 Kang Eng Lee 1 -1517

HIGH GAME: Yeo Kien Hung 600

HIGH WORD: Ramaraj Sundraraj 181 "RAVIGOTE"

Junior U 18 Division

In the Junior division, there were eighteen players playing six rounds of scrabble on the 8th August. Vinnith Ramamurti, who would also be representing Malaysia in the coming WYSC, did not to join his compatriots in the Open but instead played in the Junior U 18 division and was the clear favorite to win. He duly won all his matches to emerge Champion with six wins. The runners up position went to Jeihiin Subramanium with 5 wins and spread of 156 points, followed by Ho Hui Jan, Thong Yi Kun and Arunan Sethu with 4 wins respectively.

Junior U-18 Participants

The top six winners were presented with prizes donated by Hasbro Toy (Malaysia) Sdn. Bhd. In addition, the top three finishers were also given trophies. High word award went to Kuhan who played “HEADRIG” for 102 points.

Mr. Manohar, SJCSC Secretary, presenting prizes and trophies to the top three winners, Vinnith, Jeihiin and Ho Hui Jan.

Results after round 6

08.08.2010 2010 SSC -- JUNIOR U18 DIVISION

Rank Player Wins Mar

1 Vinnith Ramamurti 6 1051

2 Jeihiin Subramaniam 5 156

3 Ho Hui Jan 4 224

4 Thong Yi Kun 4 169

5 Arunan Sethu 4 -83

6 Wilson Kang 3 271

7 Jivan Subramaniam 3 170

8 Krishnapriya 3 155

9 Yu Teik Chien 3 123

10 Geetha Maniam 3 -149

11 Syasya Aqilah 3 -155

12 Yap Yan Rou 3 -215

13 Kuhan Bathmanaban 2 148

14 Anishia Veerappan 2 -177

15 Gabriel Kuo 2 -275

16 Anisha Anne Victor 2 -378

17 Kogaan Selvaraja 2 -604

18 Prinka Sethu 0 -431

HIGH GAME: Wilson Kang 598


Beginners Division

Even though there were only six players registered for the Beginners Division, the five rounds of scrabble were played enthusiastically among the players on the 8th August. Bahri Mahmud managed to emerge Champion by winning all his five games. The runner up position was keenly contested between Farouk and Manohar who finished with three wins each with the former having a better margin points.

Beginners Division Participants

SJSC reps Farouk Vs Manohar

The top four winners were present with prizes and the top three finishers were also given trophies. High word award went to Bahri Mahmud who played “SOLDIER” for 72 points.

Mr. Alex Tan, MSA Vice President, presenting prizes and trophies to the top three winners, Bahri, Farouk and Manohar

Results after round 5

08.08.2010 2010 SSC -- BEGINNERS DIVISION

Rank Player Wins Mar

1 Bahri Mahmud 5 589

2 Farouk Hashim 3 171

3 K. Manohar 3 109

4 Divya Ramesh 2 -124

5 M. Theanmalar 2 -407

6 Govinraj 0 -338

HIGH GAME: Bahri Mahmud 454

HIGH WORD: Bahri Mahmud 72 "SOLDIER"

The Organising Committee would like to thank everyone who has contributed in making this event a memorable one for all those who participated.

Special thanks to all the sponsors as below:

Event Sponsor: YB Hannah Yeoh, ADUN Subang Jaya.

Event Venue Host: Taylor’s College, Subang Jaya (Mr. Namasivayam)

Prize Sponsors: Hasbro Toy (Malaysia) Sdn. Bhd. (Miss June So)



Tournament Coordinator: K. Sundraraj

Tournament Director: Alex Tan

Committee members: P.Chitra, Farouk Hashim, Frida, K. Manohar & S. Krishnapriya


http://mengyee.blogspot.com said...

Raj; Congratulations looked liked a success! Glad i didnt go or else would have to play and embarrass myself

陳雲惠 said...

IS VERY GOOD..............................

All Consonant words for scrabble said...

Scrabble is a word game. It can be played with two to four players. The object of the game is to gain more points than your opponent